Limited Drivers LicenseHow Can I Get a Limited Driver's License in Minnesota?
Limited licenses are issued by the Driver and Vehicle Services Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. If you hire our law firm to represent you in your DWI case, we will help you navigate both the criminal and driver's license problems. Additionally, for specific questions regarding your driving privileges you can call the Driver and Vehicle Services Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety at 651-296-2025.
Only persons whose Minnesota driver's licenses have been revoked for first-time implied consent violations or first-time DWI convictions where the test results were below 0.16 (or the test was refused) may apply for a limited license to drive:
- to and from a job, or for a job;
- to chemical dependency treatment;
- to provide for the educational, medical, or nutritional needs of the family; and/or
- for attendance at a post-secondary educational institution.
To qualify for a limited license, a driver must be presently employed or a full-time homemaker.
Minnesota law requires a 15 day waiting period (i.e. "hard revocation" or "blackout period") before an eligible suspended or revoked driver may apply for a limited license.
To apply for a limited license, a revoked driver is required to surrender any existing license certificates and apply for a new license by:
- Taking and passing a written test based on Chapters 7 and 8 of the Minnesota Driver’s Manual ( Link );
- Paying a $680 reinstatement fee plus the $26.75 new license fee; and Meeting with a driver evaluator for approval of the limited license.
For further information about obtaining a work permit, call Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services at 651-296-2025
(Note: This number is often busy. You should hang up and redial until you get through.)
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime