Protect Your Loved Ones From Minnesota Underage DUI Penalties
Hire An Experienced Attorney To Help Prevent Facing A Penalty Of 3rd Degree DUI In MN
Has a young person you care about been charged with an underage DUI in Minnesota? If so, you are likely concerned about the Minnesota underage DUI penalties your loved one could be facing. After all, DUI penalties in Minnesota can be harsh - and you don’t want to see someone you care about facing such harsh penalties.
The reality is that DUI laws in Minnesota are applied equally to all drivers, regardless of age. Therefore, your underage loved one can expect to face the same penalty of 3rd degree DUI in MN as a person who is of the legal drinking age.
In addition, your loved one will face additional charges for drinking while under the age of 21. In fact, even those who violate DUI laws and are 16 and 17 years old fall under the jurisdiction of adult court rather than juvenile court.
As such, the possible Minnesota underage DUI penalties your loved one faces will be the same as those given to adults. The only exception is that a 16 or 17-year-old will not be sentenced to an adult incarceration facility, though incarceration is entirely possible.
If your loved one is facing a third degree charge, he/she either refused to take a blood, breath or urine test, or he/she had an aggravating factor. Aggravating factors include having a prior impaired driving incident, driving with a BAC of .20 or higher, or driving while impaired with a passenger below the age of 16.
Some of the Minnesota underage DUI penalties your loved one may be facing include:
- Up to one year in jail
- A fine of up to $3,000
- A license suspension of up to six months
The state may also choose to impound the license plates and seek to forfeit the vehicle that was involved with the incident as well.
The bottom line is that Minnesota has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to DUIs. As such, any person can have charges brought against them, even if they have only trace amounts of alcohol in their system.
Since the Minnesota underage DUI penalties can be quite harsh, it is essential to hire a skilled and experienced attorney who can handle the case and get the best results possible. The last thing you want is to see someone you care about spend his or her younger years in jail. Don’t risk their freedom with inadequate legal defense. Hire an experienced attorney to help fight for the best possible outcome.
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime