Are You Facing A Possible Minnesota License Revocation?
Hire A Skilled Lawyer To Help You Obtain A Limited Drivers License In Minnesota Or Avoid License Revocation Completely
If you are convicted of a DWI in Minnesota, one of your biggest concerns is the possibility of facing a Minnesota license revocation. After all, being forced to drive on a limited drivers license in Minnesota or having your license revoked altogether can make it difficult for you to hold down a job, go to school, socialize with friends and family, or otherwise enjoy the everyday activities that we often take for granted.
In order to maintain your driving privileges after being arrested for a DWI, it is important for you to take immediate action. This is because Minnesota law allows for immediate revocation of your license if you fail an alcohol test or if you refuse to submit to the test.
You will then be given a seven-day temporary license that will lead to a Minnesota license revocation in accordance with the offense.
According to state law, you will face a Minnesota license revocation for the following situations…
- 90 day revocation
You have had no prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten years and no aggravating factors were present at the time of the incident. This may be reduced to 30 days if you are convicted and have had no prior DWI convictions or implied consent revocations.
- Six months
You were under the age of 21 when the offense occurred.
- 180 days
You had an impaired driving incident within the past 10 years.
- Double penalty
Your license revocation period may be doubled if you tested at .20 or higher, or if you had a child below the age of 16 in the car at the time of the incident.
- One year
You refused to take an alcohol test. This may be reduced to 90 days if you are convicted, if you had no prior DWI convictions, or if you have had no prior implied consent revocations.
- Cancelled indefinitely
You have four DWI violations or are otherwise considered a threat to public safety.
Depending upon your specific situation, your attorney may be able to successfully negotiate for a limited drivers license in Minnesota if you are convicted of impaired driving.
It is important to note, however, that having a limited drivers license in Minnesota only allows you to drive to certain places, such as to and from work. Therefore, it is essential to hire an experienced attorney who will give you the best chances of avoiding a conviction or facing a Minnesota license revocation.
- Hire An Experienced DWI / DUI Attorney
- What to know about public defenders
- Protect Your Rights Against A DUI / DWI
- Mistakes people make after being arrested
- 53 DWI Laws & Case Tips
- Criminal/Administrative Penalties for DWI
- Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program
- Tips for Hiring a DWI/DUI Lawyer
- 14 Most Common Police Mistakes
- What Can You Do to Save Your License?
- What Happens After A DWI Arrest?
- Top 10 Mistakes Lawyers Make
- Minnesota's "Implied Consent" law
- Online Drink Wheel BrAC Calculator
- Elements of the Crime